College Board Suite of Assessments: What's It All About?


Michigan requires students in grades 8, 9, 10 and 11 to take one of the College Board’s Suite of Assessments – either the PSAT or SAT. This introductory workshop provides participants with an overview of the suite of assessments, including the seven key concepts and skills assessed across each test, as well as the available reports for student, parents and school personnel. During this workshop, participants engage in two protocols for examining test structure, item types, academic vocabulary, key concepts and skills from one section of the PSAT 8/9, PSAT 10 or SAT. Participants also explore resources to assist in identifying areas of focus for curriculum, assessment and instruction. 

Who should attend?

Middle and High School Administrators, ELA/Math Teacher Leaders and Curriculum Directors

The workshop Includes:

  • A review of MDE’s testing requirements for grades 8-11. 
  • Exploration of the seven Key Content Features across the College Board’s Reading, Writing and Language, and Math tests. 
  • Familiarization of item types, academic vocabulary, key concepts and skills, and comparison of similarities to local curriculum, assessment and instruction by completing one section of the PSAT 8/9, PSAT 10 or SAT. 
  • Discussion about how to use the Reports Portal and Student Score Reports. 
  • Deconstruction, organization and analysis of test items to make meaning around question format, content, and skills, in order to clarify understanding, identify patterns/trends, and inform instruction. 
  • An overview of available resources and supports for students, staff and parents. 

Attendees have said...

"The protocol where we looked at test items and grouped them was very helpful for me. I was able to get a better understanding of exactly what skills the test questions required and I feel better prepared to get our students ready for the PSAT 8/9."